New EN 131 Standard Introduced

A revised set of new EN131 ladder standards have been released to the European market on the 1st January 2018. These changes are designed primarily to address ladder stability and durability and introduce a classification of "use" to the new standard. Within the new standard ladders are classified as "EN131 Professional", (intended for use in a workplace), and "EN131 Non-Professional" (intended for use by domestic users). Our new unique red EN131 Professional Insulated Glassfibre Step Ladder is our premier builders swingback step ladder suitable for a myriad roles.

Product standards do not apply retrospectively so your existing BS2037, BS1129 and EN131 ladders are perfectly legal and fit for use as long as they are in good condition and fit for purpose. There is no immediate requirement to change your existing ladders because the product standards are being revised or withdrawn.

A transition period is now in place after this initial introduction of the new standard to allow manufacturers time to adapt to any relevant changes within the standards and gradually over time existing ladder stocks will be replaced with ladders certified to the new standards.

As long as your ladders and steps are regularly inspected and maintained in good condition there is no need to replace or exchange your existing ladders. Current BS2037, BS1129 and EN131 certified ladders are perfectly safe and fit for use.

IF you have any queries regarding your ladder stocks or require further information on ladder standards or our independant ladder inspection services please do not hesitate to contact us. For more information please download this guide: EN131 Guide. right click and select "Save Target As..." or "Save Link As...".

British and European Ladder Certification Standards

British and European Ladder Certification Standards

All ladders manufactured and supplied within the United Kingdom and the European Union should be manufactured to specified standards and correctly classified. These requirements apply to all portable ladder types and include step laddersplatform steps and extension ladders. Specialist single use ladders, (eg. loft ladders, window cleaning ladders), and fixed access ladders, (eg. static roof access ladders), are not intended for classification under these standards.

There are three main classifications of ladder – Class 1, Class EN131 and Class III. Each classification indicates the safe working load that a ladder is designed to support.

The value of the safe working load is intended to cover the weight of a single person and their equipment and is also referred to as the 'Maximum Load'.

These classifications can be broadly categorised into the type of use that a ladder is designed to support ie. Heavy Duty Industrial Use, Commercial Light Trade Use and Light Domestic Use.

Ladders have also been previously classified under their 'Duty Rating'. These values, based upon the frequency of use and type of environment in which a ladder is used, were originally determined by the British Standards organisation.

With the introduction of the European Ladder Certification Standard and Class EN131, (which replaced the original British Standards Class II specification), the UK Department of Trade and Industry, (now known as the Department for Business, Energy and Industrial Strategy), issued a table to clarify the differences between the British Standards Duty Ratings and the European Ladder Certification Standard which specified a Maximum Load...

 Classification  Duty Rating  Maximum Load  Application  Symbol 
Class 1130kg175kgIndustrial
Class EN131115kg150kgCommercial
Class III95kg125kgDomesticClass 3 Domestic

Within the three main ladder classifications described above, there are a number of British Standards which relate directly to the particular ladder type. Relevant classifications include BS 1129:1990 (British) which applies to Timber Ladders, Steps, Trestles and Lightweight Stagings; BS 2037:1994 (British) which applies to Metal and Aluminium Ladders, Steps, Trestles and Lightweight Stagings and EN 131 (European) which applies to Timber, Aluminium, Steel and Plastics Ladders and Steps. These standards detail factors such as dimensions, markings and testing requirements such as deflection, torsion, rigidity, straightness, loading and performance.

Ladders should be colour coded to provide a simple visual indication of their classification - Class 1 Ladders are commonly marked in blue, Class EN131 Ladders in green, (or yellow), and Class III Ladders are usually identified by the colour grey. Colour identification is often used on the rubber feet of ladders and steps and/or attached user instructions and warning labels.

Ladder Class 1

Class 1 Ladders are the highest rated ladders in terms of strength and quality. These ladders are suitable for use in heavy duty industrial applications and environments.

Ladder Class EN131

The European Standard EN131 is a Europe wide classification and it replaced the old British Class II Ladder Standard. Within the UK this classification is known as BS EN131. Ladders of this type are most suitable for commercial light trade work and heavy duty DIY use.

Class 3 Domestic

Class III Ladders are only suited to occasional light domestic tasks and are definitely not suitable for use within any commercial or trade environment.

Here at we do not recommend Class III ladders for domestic use and would advise users to purchase at minimum a EN131 ladder or step. We believe the EN131 ladder standard offers a significantly safer option and that users will appreciate the better quality, better service, longer life and better value for money provided by an EN131 ladder over a lightweight domestic Class III ladder.

Be aware that Ladder Certifications and Classifications indicate minimum acceptable standards - good quality Ladders and Steps will always exceed these standards.